RWC 2011 – RWC 2015: A lot has changed in four years

By Sam Ryan Just over four years ago, Australia met New Zealand in the 2011 World Cup semi final at Eden Park and were beaten comprehensively by an outstanding All Blacks outfit en route to claiming their second World Cup. Here’s a reminder of the Wallabies side that took the park that night (1-22): Sekope Kepu, Stephen Moore, Ben Alexander, Dan Vickerman, James Horwill, Rocky Elsom, David Pocock, Radike Samo, Will Genia, Quade Cooper, Digby Ioane, Pat McCabe, Anthony Fainga’a, James O’Connor, Adam Ashley-Cooper. Reserves: Tatafu Polota-Nau, James Slipper, Rob Simmons, Ben McCalman, Luke Burgess, Berrick Barnes, Rob Horne. On that night, it seemed nothing could stop New Zealand and in the end, nothing could. On that night, it seemed like it was boys playing men and the eventual result reflected that. But a lot has changed in four years, and perhaps even more in the last 12 months. Just eight players from that side are expected to take the field in Sunday mornings final, but
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!