Rugby News 2014 Shute Shield Team of the Year

by Brendan Bradford – Last season’s inaugural Rugby News Team of the Year was a massive success and it’s that time of the year again. The 2013 team ( included the eventual Ken Catchpole Medallist, the season’s top-point scorer and a host of players who have since gone on to bigger and better things in Super Rugby, Sevens and overseas. Like 2013, this was not a task undertaken lightly. Collectively, Jim Davis, Terry Smith, Paul Cook, Felicity Nethery and myself watched upwards of four games a weekend over the last four and a half months. We talk to coaches, players and administrators from all 12 sides in the competition on a regular basis and have written about every club on numerous occasions. To be eligible for selection, players must have played a decent number of games this season. Five or six isn’t enough. This disqualified plenty of Super Rugby players who turned out for a few club games as well as various other age-group and Sevens rep
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!