Olympic 7s draw and finals format announced

Australia's opponents in the pool stages of the Men's and Women's Rugby Sevens have been officially announced five weeks out from the opening ceremony. Australia's gold medal favourite Women's side will play USA, Fiji and Colombia in the pool stages while the Men face South Africa, France and Spain. The top two teams from each of the three pools will progress into the quarter finals along with the next two highest ranked third placed sides. The Sevens competitions will run over the first six days of the Olympics, with the women's tournament kicking things off. Women’s - 6-8 August (seeding in brackets) Pool A: Australia (one), USA (six), Fiji (seven), Colombia (12) Pool B: New Zealand (two), France (five), Spain (eight), Kenya (11) Pool C: Canada (three), Great Britain (four), Brazil (nine), Japan (10) Men’s - 9-11 August (seeding in brackets) Pool A: Fiji (one), USA (six), Argentina (seven), Brazil (12) Pool B: South Africa (two), Australia (five), France (eight), Spain (11)
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!