Dewar Shield: Harlequins begin hunt for fourth straight premiership

By James Wong Sustaining success is one of the greatest challenges for any sports team, and especially for club teams that are much more susceptible to the comings and goings of key players and coaches. Three time reigning Dewar Shield premiers Harlequins will be looking to continue their success as the first round of the Melbourne club competition on March 19 rapidly approaches. With their victory in the 2015 Dewar Shield, Harlequins joined Melbourne, Powerhouse and Box Hill as clubs that have completed the triple in recent years. But not since Moorabbin in the 1980s has a team won four in a row. Harlequins Chair of Rugby Brock Parker maintains that the team won’t be looking towards the past as the new season commences but does expect to be in contention once more. “We always make sure we treat every new season as a new season, we don't look back at last season as ‘we're trying to win four in a row.’ We're trying to win in 2016. What happened in 2015, that's history. We'r
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!