Australia’s Olympic Sevens squads announced

Australia's Men's and Women's Sevens squads have been announced ahead of next month's Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro. Australia’s most capped player and team captain Ed Jenkins will lead the Men's side as the sevens format makes its Olympic debut, 92 years since the 15-man format was last played at a Games. Alongside Jenkins the likes of James Stannard, Cam Clark and Pat McCutcheon bring a wealth of international experience while Henry Hutchison and fellow young gun John Porch are a part of the new breed of sevens stars set to shine on sport’s greatest stage. The Aussie team finished this season’s World Series in fourth place – its best finish in six seasons. After taking 16 players to a training camp in Darwin earlier this month, coach Andy Friend was forced to cut his squad to 12, with Sam Figg, Tom Kingston, Boyd Killingworth and Sam Myers missing selection. Two of those players are expected to travel with the team as fresh reserves. Women's coach Tim Walsh
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!