Australian Boys Sevens squad named for World Championship


The extended squad for the Australian Boys Sevens side has been named ahead of the World School Sevens Championship in New Zealand in December.

Australia are the defending champions after overcoming New Zealand Maori, Samoan Barbarians and New Zealand Fijians to claim the 2016 Championship.

The Australian Youth Boys Sevens squad has established itself as a key step in the development pathway of Rugby Sevens with the program having already produced several contracted Sevens players, including Henry Hutchison, Simon Kennewell, Tate McDermott and Tim Anstee.

Isaac Lucas, brother of Ben, Matt and Tom, will follow in the footsteps of his older brothers by joining the Sevens fold after being named in the Youth Boys Sevens squad. All three of Isaac’s older brothers have played Sevens for Australia while Isaac impressed in the 2016 Youth Boys Sevens side.

It also runs in the family for St Augustine’s College (NSW) student Kieren Mundine, with cousin Anthony having represented New South Wales in Rugby League before starting a successful boxing career.

“This squad highlights some of the best upcoming talent coming through the Australian Rugby pathway and it is a great that these players are using Sevens as their pathway to elite Rugby,” Australian men’s coach Andy Friend said.

“Qualifying for the Youth Olympic Games will be the eventual goal of this squad and we look forward to seeing how these players grow and develop at the upcoming camps.”

The squad will have three camps in 2017 before the team departs for New Zealand in December.

2017 Australian Youth Boys Rugby Sevens Squad:

Jackson Pugh (WA), Lua Koiatu (WA), Luke Kapene (WA), Billy Smith (NSW), Jacob Styles (NSW), Kieren Mundine (NSW), Triston Reilly (NSW), Will Harrison (NSW), Matt Stead (NSW), Jonny Mitsias (NSW), Dominic Easy (NSW), Isaac Henry (QLD), Jeral Skelton (QLD), Shea Lalagavesi (QLD), Quinton Mahina (QLD), Sam Warner (QLD), Joe Small (QLD), Tom Gilbert (QLD), Josh Vuta (QLD), Tiko Twist (QLD), Deon Evans (NSW), Blake Clayton (NSW), Jordan Williams (NSW), Darren Caulten (NT), Jangala Bennet (QLD), Hamiso Tabuai (QLD), Allan Tuigamala (NSW), Tom Woodcock (NSW), Tom Haddad (ACT), Isaac Crowe (ACT), Mila (Milavinera) Lalatoa (VIC), Ratu (Sam) Tuibua (VIC), Haloti Fonua Jnr (VIC), Atunaisa Bosenavulagi (VIC), Lisiate Finau (NSW), Isaac Lucas (QLD), Rory Illman (SA).