Sydney 7’s to kick start 2016 rugby season

Allianz Stadium 2 Hi Res


The 2016 rugby season will begin a few weeks early next year, with World Rugby and the ARU announcing the inaugural Sydney 7’s will be held at Allianz Stadium on February 6th and 7th.

Australia’s leg of the Sevens World Series has been held on the Gold Coast since 2011, but following disappointing crowd attendance in recent years, the annual tournament has been moved to Sydney for the next four seasons.

With the World Cup and NRC set to conclude on the last weekend of October this year, Australian rugby fans will have just 96 days without rugby this summer.

“There will be no better way to kick off a new season of Rugby in this country than the Sydney 7s in February,” ARU CEO Bill Pulver said.

After finishing fifth in 2014-15 Sevens World Series, Australia are yet to qualify for the 2016 Olympics, but can do so by winning the Oceania Regional Championships, to be held in Auckland in November.

If they fail to do that, but finish in the top 3 in Auckland, Australia can qualify by winning the final qualification tournament next year.

“2016 will be a bumper year for Australian Rugby fans – we have the re-vamped Super Rugby competition that will feature teams from Argentina and Japan; England touring here in June; and Rugby Sevens will make its debut at the Olympics in Rio in August,” Pulver added.

In good news for fans, tickets for the two day event start from just $30, with a two day general admission pass costing just $50.

With the Olympics on the horizon, the ARU are hopeful of filling the 45,000 seat Allianz Stadium for both days of competition.

“The global appeal of the game has never been stronger and we are looking forward to welcoming fans and players from 16 countries to the Sydney Sevens in the first weekend of February.”

Full Series Dates for the 2015-16 Sevens World Series:

5-6 December 2015 – Dubai, United Arab Emirates
12-13 December 2015 – Cape Town, South Africa
30-31 January 2016 – Wellington, New Zealand
6-7 February 2016 – Sydney, Australia
4-6 March 2016 – Las Vegas, USA
12-13 March 2016 – Vancouver, Canada
8-10 April 2016 – Hong Kong
16-17 April 2016 – Singapore
14-15 May 2016 – Paris, France
20-22 May 2016 – London, England *TBC