Shute Shield: Hot-Shot Hamish Ready To Kick On

by Paul Cook - A look at the list of Ken Catchpole Medal winners over the last 20 years reveals a host of players whose reward for being named as the Shute Shield’s finest player, was a chance to show their wares at the next levels of the game. Last year’s winner, David Horwitz, has already racked up 10 appearances for the NSW Waratahs in 2016 while Peter Besseling (1999), Sam Harris (2000), Des Tuiavi'i (2001), Tim Donnelly (2005), Peter Hewat (2006) and Brendan McKibbin (2010), also got to pull on the Cambridge Blue while racking up a fair few overseas experiences along the way between them as well. Andrew Smith (2009) is back at the Brumbies after a stint in Europe, fellow former Shoreman Keith Gleeson (1999) went on to play for Ireland, Gavin DeBartolo (2006) for the US Eagles and Dave Harvey (2008 & 2011) is currently preparing to represent the Brazilian Sevens team at the Rio Olympics having previously mustered 10 caps for the Western Force. Scott Fava (2002/03/04) pl
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!