Melbourne Rising 2017 Squad & Season Preview

After losing in the opening week of the NRC playoffs for the third straight season, the Melbourne Rising will put their trust in a handful of future stars this year as they look to overcome a disappointing Super Rugby season. The Rising named an extended squad after holding a trial match for Dewar Shield club players earlier this year and 17 debutants played their way into the final squad for the upcoming season. But perhaps the most exciting aspect of this year’s Rising campaign is their young stars. “We’ve got quite a few guys from this year’s Australian U20s squad, some local guys and plenty of players with Super Rugby experience,” Rising forward Rob Leota told Rugby News. “Guys like Jack Maddocks, Jordan Uelese and Sione Tuipulotu played really well in the 20s and I think after getting a taste of Super Rugby this year, they’ll take a lot of confidence into this NRC season.” Former Aussie 7s star Henry Hutchison will continue his transition to XVs and
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!