Kerry Chikarovski Appointed Director of NSW Rugby Union

Kerry Chikarovski has been appointed to the Board of the NSWRU.

Kerry Chikarovski has been appointed to the Board of the NSWRU.

NSW Rugby Union Media Release –

Former State Liberal Party Leader Kerry Chikarovski has been appointed to the Board of New South Wales Rugby Union.

A passionate rugby supporter, Kerry was last year elected to chair the NSW Women’s Rugby Union and has been working continuously to improve awareness of the women’s game in Australia.

Well known for her political career, she retired from politics in 2003 and has since gone on to establish a successful government relations business, Chikarovski & Associates, which is now in its tenth year of operation. 

Her vast experience in government and business has been welcomed by NSW Rugby Union President Tim Gavin and Chairman Nick Farr-Jones, who said, “I am delighted that Kerry has accepted the offer to join us. 

“She brings a wide range of skills and energy to our Board and I believe her appointment will greatly benefit NSW Rugby Union.” 

Said Ms Chikarovski, “I am extremely excited and honoured to have been given the opportunity to further promote and develop the game of rugby union in NSW.”

In 2004, Kerry co-authored her biography, Chika, a compelling and honest description of her personal and political life.  She is highly sought-after as an event speaker, master of ceremonies and facilitator of Question and Answer forums and panel discussions. 

Kerry has also served as a Trustee of the Sydney Cricket and Sports Ground Trust.  She sits on the board of the Humpty Dumpty Foundation and is an Ambassador for the Eggtober Foundation and Australian Indigenous Education Foundation (AIEF). 

Ms Chikarovski’s appointment to the Board comes after the retirement of former President and Director Peter Medway.  Her appointment follows that of Sally Loane, the first female member of the NSW Rugby Union Board, who was appointed in December 2008 before being nominated as NSW Rugby’s official representative on the Waratahs Rugby Board upon its formation in January 2010.

The NSW Rugby Union Board now comprises Nick Farr-Jones (Chairman), Kerry Chikarovski, Geoff Garland, Arthur Laundy, Rob Millner, Paul Timmins, Peter Veenstra and Bruce Worboys.