Young stars named in full strength Waratahs side for final trial

Sydney Uni star Jake Gordon will get a chance to play his way into the Waratahs No.9 jersey for this season tomorrow night after being named in the starting side for the Tahs final trial match against the Highlanders at Brookvale Oval. Gordon was brilliant in last year's Shute Shield and NRC and has continued to impress the Waratahs coaching staff throughout the pre-season. Assistant coach Nathan Grey said tomorrow's match was a genuine selection trial in a number of positions. “There's three nines in the program at the moment that are all training and performing in a way that is making the decisions difficult for Daryl,” Grey told “Clearly, Nick Phipps is someone who's been around for a while and from a playing perspective at that highest level, we’ve got a pretty good idea of what Nick can do and what his skill set is and Jake's a bit of a different story. “So, him and Matty Lucas will be getting time and they're pushing really hard.” 2016 Shute Shie
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!