West Harbour flyhalf Tayler Adams wins 2017 Ken Catchpole Medal

West Harbour flyhalf Tayler Adams has won the 2017 Ken Catchpole medal, awarded to the Shute Shield's most valuable player. In 2017, first grade referees and opposing coaches awarded points on a 3,2,1 basis each week during the regular season. Adams finished the year on 55 points, 7 points ahead of Gordon winger Paula Balakena and 18 points ahead of Eastwood centre Tom Hill in third place. Departing Randwick flyhalf Andrew Deegan and Parramatta No.9 Waldo Wessels finished in the top five, with eight of 12 clubs featuring in the top 10. After a slow start to the season, Adams and West Harbour won their final seven regular season matches to finish just one competition point shy of a finals berth. The Kiwi born playmaker is expected to get first crack at the NSW Country Eagles No.10 jersey in the upcoming NRC, which begins this weekend. 2017 Ken Catchpole Medal - Top 10 Points Player Club 55 Tayler Adams West Harbour 48 Paula Balaken
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!