Wessels shuffles Force forward pack

Western Force coach Dave Wessels hopes a re-shuffled forward pack will give his backs plenty of clean ball when they take on the Queensland Reds on Thursday night. The Force were up to the challenge at the breakdown in their 19-13 loss against the Waratahs but Wessels has made several changes to his forward pack. New recruit Ben Daley will get his first start in place of Pek Cowan, while the shuffle of the back five in the scrum will see Matt Philip start at lock, Ross Haylett-Petty move to blindside flanker and Brynard Stander shift to Number 8, with Richard Hardwick relegated to the bench. Wessels has not made any changes to the backline which was severely hampered by slippery conditions at Allianz Stadium last Saturday. "We felt that we were good in a number of areas of the game last Saturday, but we were disappointed that we didn’t win the game," Wessels said. "So, what we’re looking to do this week, in hopefully better conditions, is be able to show more of what we’ve b
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!