Vote Now: 2023 Shute Shield Team of the Year – Props

The Shute Shield has been run and won for another year, with Randwick claiming the 2023 final after holding off Norths in a thrilling grand final at Leichhardt Oval late last month. 

Not it’s time to select the Shute Shield team of the year and we’d like the fans and our Rugby News readers to help. 

Over the coming weeks, all readers will be able to vote for one player in each position. If an individual votes more than once (in each position category), their votes will not be counted. 

To be eligible to be nominated for the Shute Shield team of the year, players must have: 

  • Polled at last 7 Catchpole Medal votes in 2023, as voted by Shute Shield coaches after each regular season match
  • Scored eight or more tries this in the regular season

In certain positions, the top six or seven players that met this criteria were nominated. 

Use the form at the bottom of the article to enter your vote before the end of September. The votes will then be tallied and the Shute Shield team of the year will be announced in early October. 


James Wayland – Eastwood

Carried for more than 30 meters per match in his 12 regular season appearances for Eastwood in 2023. 

Tristan Fuli – Gordon

Averaged 73 minutes per match in 2023 and led the third most consistent scrum in the competition. 

Ivan Fepule’ai – Manly

At one point this season, Fepule’ai was close to unstoppable near the tryline. He scored seven five pointers in 14 matches this year. He was also handy at the breakdown and worked hard around the park. 

Cameron Orr – West Harbour

Only played nine matches for the Pirates but polled extremely well in the Catchpole considering his limited availability. West Harbour had the fourth most consistent scrum this season. 

Sateki Latu – Waringah

Went from strength to strength after spending time training with the Waratahs, Latu averaged more than 70 minutes per match this season and scored eight five pointers. 

error: Content is protected !!