Sydney Uni and Warringah name teams for Shute Shield grand final

Sydney University and Warringah have both named full strength sides to play in Saturday’s Shute Shield grand final at North Sydney Oval.

The Students welcome back Wallabies Tolu Latu and Nick Phipps for the decider after they were released from Wallabies camp to get game time ahead of the Rugby Championship.

Latu will start at hooker, while Phipps will play from the bench. The remainder of the side remains unchanged from last week’s comprehensive win over Manly.

Warringah have named an unchanged starting side for just the second time this season.

The Rats kicked a late penalty goal to claim a 25-22 victory over Norths last Sunday and secure a spot in their second straight Shute Shield grand final.

The two sides met only once this year back in round 10. Warringah scored 12 unanswered points in that match to claim a 15-12 victory.

Sydney University (1-15)

Matt Sandell, Tolu Latu, Paddy Ryan, Lachie Swinton, Dave McDuling, Nick Champion de Creispigny, Brad Wilkin, Rohan O’Regan, Jake Gordon, Stu Dunbar, James Kane, Will McDonnell, Guy Porter, Harry Potter, Tim Clements.

Reserves: Tom Horton, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Chris Talakai, Jack Sharrett, Viliame Cocker, Nick Phipps, Theo Strang, Henry Clunies-Ross.

Warringah (1-15)

Rory O’Connor, Luke Holmes, Harry Rorke, Sam Thomson, Jack Tomkins, Tom Preece, Mahe Vailanu, Sam Ward, Josh Holmes, Hamish Angus, Esera Chee-Kam, Sailosi Tagicakibau, Seb Wileman, Tyson Davis, Dave Feltscheer.

Reserves: Ruaridh Mackenzie, Faavae Sila, Baxter King, Emmanuel Meafou, Maclean Jones, Mark Gerrard, Myles Dorrian, Harry Jones.

error: Content is protected !!