Super Rugby U20’s competition to be held in 2016

Australia's five Super Rugby franchises will compete in a regular weekly U20s competition for the first time in 2016. Kicking off on Saturday 27 February, the six-week competition will see each side play each other across the country, with a final between the top two ranked teams to decide the inaugural Super U20s champion. The five teams competing will be Queensland U20s, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Brumbies Colts (U20s), Melbourne Rebels U20s and the Western Force U20s. The competition replaces the former Australian U20s Championship and will be the breeding ground for the Australian U20s side, as well as showcasing the next generation of Australian Super Rugby stars coming through the ranks. All but two matches in the inaugural Super U20s competition will be played as curtain raisers to Super Rugby matches, adding to the match day experience for fans. “The Super U20s Championship will be an exciting platform for the next generation of Australian players to enhance their abilities in
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!