Shute Shield: Round 1 Team Lists & Analysis

The 2024 Shute Shield season kicks off on Saturday and the team lists are in ahead of what could be a wet opening weekend.

We've taken a look at each side's starting XV and provided some background on some of the new names and faces set to debut for each club this weekend.

Eastwood v Manly

Almost 18 months after suffering an ACL injury in Eastwood’s 2022 semi final loss, Harry Turner returns to the Shute Shield and will captain a young Eastwood side.

Recruits Lachlan Frean (Norths), Julian Zissis (Souths), Michael Stringer (New Zealand), Angus Blackmore (Canberra) and Reece Tapine (Western Force) have all been named to start in round one.

Manly have also named a number of recruits to start, including 27-year old Welsh lock Rory Bartle, a former Wales U20s player who spent last season at North Otago. He'll line up next to former Highlanders squad member Sam Fischli, who moved to Australia following a stint in the MLR.

In the backs, former Western Force winger Byron Sharwood will also make his Marlins debut.

Eastwood (1-15)

Alex Pappalardo, Lachlan Frean, Dion Yazdani, Jack Parsons, Julian Zissis, Ratu Tuisese, Harry Turner, Jimmy Hokafonu, Tom Goddard, Harry Snook, Michael Stringer, Angus Blackmore, Reece Tapine, JL Bacon, Lucas Vass.

Manly (1-15)

Neori Nadruku, Aaron Blacklock, Maka Mafileo, Justin Mataele, Rory Bartle, Sam Fischli, Hunter Ward, Ben Gleeson, Ruan Du Plooy, Robbie McIntosh, Byron Sharwood, Angus Bell, Fraser Conway, Fraser Toohey, Ollie Horne.

Hunter v Randwick

Hunter have named former Tongan international Tau Koloamatangi alongside promising hooker Hamish Moore and Australian Schoolboy Bo Abra in an impressive starting front row.

You have reached content available exclusively to Rugby News subscribers.

error: Content is protected !!