NSW Waratahs name team to play QLD Reds at SCG

NSW Waratahs coach Daryl Gibson has named a strong side to play the Queensland Reds at the SCG on Saturday.

Gibson has made just one change to the side that beat the Sunwolves last weekend, with Nick Phipps returning to the match day 23, after scoring a hat trick for Sydney Uni in his return from injury in the Shute Shield last Saturday.

“Firstly being able to name an unchanged line-up is a reward to the guys for performing for us. We’ve had six games, four of those have been on the road and this will only be our third game at home so it’s nice to be back home, particularly for such as prestigious game.”

Phipps will play his first Super Rugby match of the season from the bench and replaces Randwick No.9 Mitch Short in the Waratahs side.

Saturday’s game at the SCG will be the first time since 1983 that NSW and Queensland have played at the iconic venue.

“It’s going to be new for everyone but once you get over the fact that it’s a different ground, at the end of the day, it’s still going to be a rectangle. We are looking forward to what will be a very physical encounter.”

NSW Waratahs name team to play QLD Reds

1. Tom Robertson (33)
2. Damien Fitzpatrick (37)
3. Sekope Kepu (113)
4. Ned Hanigan (21)
5. Rob Simmons (4)
6. Will Miller (5)
7. Michael Hooper (86, captain)
8. Michael Wells (21)
9. Jake Gordon (37)
10. Bernard Foley (93, vice-captain)
11. Taqele Naiyaravoro (38)
12. Kurtley Beale (116)
13. Curtis Rona (6)
14. Alex Newsome (6)
15. Bryce Hegarty (18)

16. Hugh Roach (35)
17. Harry Johnson-Holmes (6)
18. Paddy Ryan (97)
19. Tom Staniforth (6)
20. Jed Holloway (29)
21. Nick Phipps (62)
22. Lalakai Foketi (6)
23. Cameron Clark (12)