NSW Country and Sydney name young teams to play NRC opener

Sydney and the NSW Country Eagles have named their respective teams ahead of their Round 1 clash at Apex Oval, Dubbo to kick off the National Rugby Championship.

Chris Whitaker’s Sydney side features Lachlan Swinton, Cam Clark, Mitch Short and will be led by Lalakai Foketi.

Eagles boss, Robert Taylor has named Ned Hanigan and Jake Gordon co-captains in a side that includes Tom Staniforth and Mack Mason.

A number of the state’s brightest young prospects will also be in action with Junior Wallabies Will Harris, Angus Bell, Pat Tafa, Will Harrison, Ben Donaldson and Mark Nawaqaintawse lining up across both squads.

NSW Country Eagles:

STARTING XV: 1.Angus Bell, 2.David Vea, 3.Matt Sandell, 4.Nathan Den Houdt, 5.Tom Staniforth, 6.Ned Hanigan ©, 7.Michael Icely,  8.Will Harris, 9.Jake Gordon ©, 10.Mack Mason, 11.James Kane, 12.Joey Walton, 13.Ben Woollett, 14.James Turner, 15.Tim Clements.

SUBS: 16.Aaron Blacklock, 17.Cody Walker, 18.Chris Talakai, 19.Tom Nowlan, 20.Pat Tafa, 21.Jack Grant, 22.Connor O’Shea, 23.Mark Nawaqaintawse.


STARTING XV: 1.Rory O’Connor, 2.Ed Craig, 3.Sham Vui, 4.Ryan McCauley, 5.Tuitakau Kioa, 6.Lachlan Swinton, 7.Josh Kemeny, 8.Jordan Goddard, 9.Mitch Short, 10.Will Harrison, 11.Tyson Davis, 12.Lalakai Foketi ©, 13.Cam Clark, 14.James Ramm, 15.Ben Donaldson

SUBS: 16.Declan Moore, 17.Harry Rorke, 18.Wayne Borsak, 19.Jack Digby, 20.Christian Poidevin, 21.Jacob Abel, 22.Trent Winterstein, 23.Jaline Graham