NRC: Melbourne Rising training squad announced

All nine local Dewar Shield clubs are represented in the Melbourne Rising 46-player Extended Training Squad (ETS) ahead of the 2016 National Rugby Championship. The extended squad, named on Wednesday, includes four local Australian U20’s stars, including forwards Jordan Uelese (Melbourne Uni), Ta Hosea (Harlequins) and Ikapote Tupai (Melbourne), along with back Au-Mu Tuimalealifano (Harlequins). Uelese, Tupai and Tuimalealifano have recently returned from the 2016 World Rugby U20’s Championship in Manchester, where Australia finished sixth after going down to New Zealand in a playoff. “Victoria continues to develop quality Rugby players, evident with seven locals selected in the Australian U20’s squad this year,” Melbourne Rising head coach Zane Hilton said. “We have a responsibility to providing our emerging Victorian players with development opportunities, whether it’s via an Extended Training Squad or Melbourne Rising selection for the 2016 National Rugby Champions
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!