Junior Wallabies side named for U20s World Cup opener

The Junior Wallabies side to play Wales U20s in the opening clash of the World Rugby U20s Championship has been named with Ryan Lonergan to captain the side in the match on Thursday morning (Sydney time).

Head Coach Jason Gilmore has made four changes to the side that faced New Zealand in the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship with Melbourne Rebels squad member, Semisi Tupou to play his first game in Junior Wallabies colours for 2018.

“We’ve had a good preparation in the lead up to this match and the lads are looking forward to starting the World Championship,” Australian coach Jason Gilmore said.

“Wales are a very tough side and we know that they have some big bodies and will use the set piece really well, so we will need to front up to the challenge.”

On the bench Australia will be supported by Queensland Reds scrumhalf, Tate McDermott and recent NSW Waratahs signing, Will Harrison.

The match kicks off at 5am on Thursday 31 May and will be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS.

2018 World Rugby U20s Championship Pool A Fixtures*:
Thursday 31 May

Australia v Wales, 5.00am AEST, Stade de la Mediterranee, Bézier
Sunday 3 June
Australia v Japan, 10.00pm AEST, Stade de la Mediterranee, Bézier
Friday 8 June
Australia v New Zealand, 5.00am AEST, Stade Aime-Giral, Perpignan
*Dates and times have been named as AEST

Junior Wallabies team to play Wales:
1.Harry Hoopert, Queensland, Brothers
2. Efi Maafu, Queensland, Wests
3. Tom Ross, ACT, Gungahlin
4. Trevor Hosea, Harlequins, Victoria
5. Angus Blyth, Queensland, Bond University
6. Esei Haangana, Victoria, Melbourne Unicorns
7. Fraser McReight, Queensland, Brothers
8. Josh Kemeny, NSW, Sydney University
9. Ryan Lonergan (c), ACT, Vikings
10. Bayley Kuenzle, NSW, Southern Districts
11. Matt McTaggert, NSW, Easts
12. Isaac Lucas, Queensland, Sunnybank
13. Semisi Tupou, Victoria, Box Hill
14. James Ramm, NSW, Randwick
15. Mack Hansen, ACT, Gungahlin
16. Sama Malolo, Victoria, Endeavour Hills
17. George Francis, NSW, Eastwood
18. Lawrence Tominiko, Queensland, Sunnybank
19. Michael Wood, Queensland, Brothers
19. Patrick Tafa, NSW, Norths
20. Tate McDermott, Queensland, University of Queensland
21. Will Harrison, NSW, Randwick
22. Isiah Latu, ACT, Queanbeyan