Junior Wallabies name full strength team to play New Zealand

Australian U20s coach Jason Gilmore has named a full strength side to play New Zealand in the final match of the Oceania U20s Championship on the Gold Coast on Saturday.

Captain and scrumhalf Ryan Lonergan will make his first appearance in a gold jersey this year after missing Australia’s opening two matches through injury.

Trevor Hosea and Harry Hockings combine to form a powerful second row, while Mack Hansen has been named at fullback, forcing Gilmore to shift Matt McTaggert on the wing.

Australia and New Zealand both beat Fiji and Tonga comfortably earlier this week, turning Saturday’s match into a final of the Oceania U20s Championship.

“We’ve prepared really well yesterday and today. The boys and staff are excited and we’re looking forward to it,” Australian coach Jason Gilmore said.

“Ryan Lonergan is really keen, it was disappointing he couldn’t play in the first two games because of a niggle.

“We always planned to play him in this game and give him the opportunity to lead his country. He’s a quality footballer.

“We have a really strong bench through the Forwards and the Backs and we know they will bring a lot of energy and bring some impact to what they do.”

The match will kick off at Bond University Rugby club at 7pm AEST on the Gold Coast and will be streamed LIVE through RUGBY.com.au.

Junior Wallabies team to play New Zealand

1. Harry Hoopert, Brothers
2. Efi Ma’afu, Wests
3. Tom Ross, Gungahlin
4. Trevor Hosea, Harlequins
5. Harry Hockings, University of Queensland
6. Esei Ha’angana, Melbourne Unicorns
7. Fraser McReight, Brothers
8. Josh Kemeny, Sydney University
9. Ryan Lonergan (c), Vikings
10. Lawson Creighton, Brothers
11. Matt McTaggert, Easts
12. Isaac Lucas, Sunnybank
13. Len Ikitau, Vikings
14. Isiah Latu, Queanbeyan
15. Mack Hansen, Gungahlin

16. Sama Malolo, Endeavour Hills
17. George Francis, Eastwood
18. Josh Nasser, University of Queensland
19. Angus Blyth, Bond University
20. Justin Sikimeti, Queanbeyan
21. Tate McDermott, University of Queensland
22. Tony Hunt, Norths (Brisbane)
23. Hayden Sargeant, Bond University