Gibson shuffles Waratahs side ahead of Reds clash

The inclusion of  forward Jed Holloway at lock is the only change to the starting line-up for Saturday’s Super Rugby match against the Queensland Reds in Brisbane.

Holloway came off the bench against the Chiefs in Hamilton last week. His selection means that Tom Staniforth is on the bench alongside young tighthead prop Shambeckler Vui, who replaces Paddy Ryan.

NSW Waratahs Coach Daryl Gibson said Holloway’s call-up was a great opportunity for the 25-year-old.

“He is getting his first start in the second row, which is a great chance for him. He is athletic and his ability to carry the ball is an asset for us.”

Gibson said Saturday’s return match against the traditional rivals will be fierce.

“We are both passionate about our States and the jersey and that will come through again. (Reds Coach) Brad Thorn is known to set up his team to be physical, like we saw in the game at the SCG in April, so we expect that to be the case again on the weekend.”

NSW Waratahs team to play QLD Reds

Tom Robertson (39)

Damien Fitzpatrick (43)

Sekope Kepu (119)

Jed Holloway (35)

Rob Simmons (10)

Will Miller (11)

Michael Hooper (Captain, 92)

Michael Wells (27)

Nick Phipps (68)

Bernard Foley (Vice Captain, 99)

Taqele Naiyaravoro (44)

Kurtley Beale (122)

Curtis Rona (12)

Cam Clark (18)

Israel Folau (84)


Tolu Latu (47)

Harry Johnson-Holmes (12)

Shambeckler Vui (2)

Tom Staniforth (12)

Brad Wilkin (1)

Jake Gordon (23)

Lalakai Foketi (12)

Bryce Hegarty (25)

error: Content is protected !!