Daryl Gibson names NSW Waratahs team to play Sharks

NSW Waratahs coach Daryl Gibson has named his team to play the Sharks on Sunday morning (AEDT).

Following the Tahs’ nail biting victory over the Stormers in Sydney, Gibson has made just one change to the starting XV, with Jed Holloway replacing injured lock Rob Simmons.

Match winner Ned Hanigan will play in the the second row alongside Tom Staniforth, with Michael Wells shifting from No.8 to No.6 to make room for Holloway for the round three clash.

The remainder of the side is unchanged however Gibson has named Shute Shield stars Mitch Short and Will Miller and Fijian prop Kalivati Tawake on the bench, with all three in line to make their Waratahs debuts.

The NSW Waratahs face the Sharks at 12:05am (AEDT) on Sunday morning.

NSW Waratahs team to play Sharks (Waratahs caps)

1. Tom Robertson (28)

2. Damien Fitzpatrick (32)

3. Paddy Ryan (92)

4. Ned Hanigan (16)

5. Tom Staniforth (1)

6. Michael Wells (16)

7. Michael Hooper (81, captain)

8. Jed Holloway (24)

9. Jake Gordon (13)

10. Bernard Foley (88, vice-captain)

11. Curtis Rona (1)

12. Kurtley Beale (111)

13. Lalakai Foketi (1)

14. Andrew Kellaway (21)

15. Israel Folau (76)


16. Hugh Roach (31)

17. Harry Johnson-Holmes (1)

18. Kalivati Tawake (*)

19. Nick Palmer (1)

20. Will Miller (*)

21. Mitch Short (*)

22. Bryce Hegarty (14)

23. Alex Newsome (1)