Cheika names new faces in Wallabies starting XV to play Fiji

Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has named two uncapped players in his starting fifteen to face Fiji at AAMI Park in Melbourne. Ned Hanigan and Karmichael Hunt will both make their debuts on Saturday afternoon, with the bench to be named following a final training run on Friday. Hanigan will start in the number six jersey, just over a year after making his Super Rugby debut, while Hunt will become a dual-international after playing 11 Tests for Rugby League's Kangaroos. Michael Hooper will captain the side with Tatafu Polota-Nau set to wear the number two jersey. It's a return to the Test arena for Reds backrower Scott Higginbotham, who last played for the Wallabies in July 2015 against South Africa in Brisbane. Brumbies duo Sam Carter and Allan Alaalatoa have been rewarded for their fine Super Rugby form in a new-look tight five. "I have been very pleased with some of the individual performances this season and this has really been the basis of many of these sel
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!