Catchpole Medal Leaderboard: Who is leading the Shute Shield MVP race after eight rounds

The Ken Catchpole Medal is awarded to the Shute Shield's best player each season, as voted by opposition coaches each week on a 3-2-1 basis over the course of the 18 round regular season.

Last year, Eastwood's Michael Icely won the award and was picked up by the Aussie 7s side soon after. Icely is currently in Madrid competing in the grand final weekend of the World Sevens series and is in the mix to represent Australia at the Olympics in Paris later this year.

After eight rounds, here are the leading contenders for the 2024 Ken Catchpole Medal (alphabetical order):

Gary Bautz - Norths

Hard working Norths backrower Gary Bautz was outstanding in the opening rounds of this season. Bautz is ranked second for tackles made and breakdown steals but played from the bench in second grade against Warringah last weekend and is expected to start in second grade against Manly in round nine, which may impact his polling.

You have reached content available exclusively to Rugby News subscribers.

error: Content is protected !!