Australia to provide just 3 of 17 referees for 2018 Super Rugby tournament

Just three Australian referees have been named in SANZAAR’s 17 man squad to officiate this year’s Super Rugby tournament.

Angus Gardner, Nic Berry and Will Houston will fly the flag for the Australian officials, alongside seven referees from New Zealand and five South African officials. Argentina and Japan will both provide one referee each.

Despite this, referees boss Lyndon Bray is confident SANZAAR have found the right balance in their officiating squad.

“The team is a well balanced mix of referees with Test and Super Rugby experience and several emerging referees who now have one or two seasons under their belt,” Bray said.

“The experience in the team comes from Jaco Peyper and Glen Jackson, who have refereed 82 and 65 matches respectively, while we also have a group around the 40-50 mark including Angus Gardner, Nick Briant and Mike Fraser.”

2018 Super Rugby Referee Team
 Referee  Country  Super Rugby Matches
 Federico Anselmi    Argentina  8
 Nic Berry    Australia  10
 Nick Briant    New Zealand  41
 Mike Fraser    New Zealand  40
 Angus Gardner    Australia  47
 Will Houston    Australia  9
 AJ Jacobs    South Africa  0
 Glen Jackson    New Zealand  65
 Shuhei Kubo    Japan  8
 Jamie Nutbrown    New Zealand  8
 Ben O’Keeffe    New Zealand  24
 Jaco Peyper    South Africa  82
 Brendon Pickerill    New Zealand  12
 Rasta Rasivhenge    South Africa  8
 Egon Seconds    South Africa  4
 Marius van der Westhuizen    South Africa  28
 Paul Williams    New Zealand  11

error: Content is protected !!