2016 Ken Catchpole Medallist and Shute Shield awards announced

Northern Suburbs skipper Will Miller has been awarded the 2016 Ken Catchpole Medal just over 24 hours after he helped Norths book a spot in Saturday's Intrust Shute Shield grand final. Miller finished equal second in 2015, just one point behind winner Dave Horwitz, and has been one of the most consistent performers in Australian club rugby for several years. The 23-year old represented Australia at Schoolboy and Sevens level before making his debut for the Shoreman as a 19-year old. To read more about Miller's careers, both on and off the field, click here.  Miller's teammate Irae Simone was named rookie of the year, while Randwick's Andrew Deegan and Warringahs' Harry Jones received awards as the highest point scorer and try scorer respectively. Grand finalists Sydney University also had a big night. Coach Tim Davidson was named coach of the year, while the club also collected the Club Championship, Colts Club Championship and Minor Premiership. 2016 Award Winners Ken Catchpol
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!