The 10 most succesful Shute Shield clubs of all time

With the 2018 Shute Shield season just under two months away, we thought we'd take a look back over the history books to find out which club has won the most first grade premierships in the competition's 95 year history For the sake of the argument, we counted both Shute Shield and Tooheys New Cup premierships when both competitions were played from 2002-2006. 1. Randwick - 29 premierships The Galloping Greens have produced more Wallabies than any other club in Australia and they've had plenty of on field success at Coogee Oval of their own. Between 1978 and 1996, Randwick incredibly won 14 of 19 first grade premierships and played in three of the remaining five grand finals. 2. Sydney University - 26 premierships Winning isn't a new habit for the Students. Sydney Uni won five of the first six Shute Shield premierships from 1923 to 1928. The club went through some tough times in the 90s, but became the dominant force in the competition soon after, winning the Tooheys New
Already a subscriber? Log in here.

Continue reading this story for free

Create a free account to continue reading and get more of Rugby News' top stories directly to your inbox.

Or, subscribe for unlimited access

error: Content is protected !!